Virginity And Celibacy

But I wish everyone were single, just as I am. Yet each person has a special gift from God, of one kind or another. So I say to those who aren’t married and to widows—it’s better to stay unmarried, just as I am. But if they can’t control themselves, they should go ahead and marry. It’s better to marry than to burn with lust. -1 Corinthians 7:7-9

All throughout my teenage years into my early adulthood I was proud to be a virgin. There was nothing for me to be ashamed or embarrassed about. I am in my forties now and still am not sexually active, nor do I desire to be.

I never wanted a husband; I knew I never would get married ever since childhood. I always felt destined to be happily single and I am very content this way. God has different plans for everyone according to the way he designed and prepared our lives.

Within society things of a sexual nature have been heavily promoted and encouraged for many, many years. It has become the norm to have casual sexual relationships and encounters.

Those who do not engage in or refuse to partake in premarital sex would be considered old-fashioned, lame, unfashionable, abnormal- nothing especially attractive or exciting to the popular culture.

I didn’t care about the popular culture or what anyone concluded and was tired of certain people making a big deal in regard to my virginity, and tired of those who assumed I was waiting for or holding out until matrimony.

It was rare and unusual to be a virgin in the eyes of these people and they either found it hard to believe because they were caught up in their own temptation or found the circumstance refreshing because of the moral aspect.

With me, there was no lustful temptation or moral example that I sought to achieve. I was just being me, a part of the way God made me. He does things to show how powerfully and wonderfully he can work through us apart from the ways of the world and the flesh.

There are people who once indulged regularly or who had one or two sexual encounters outside of wedlock then eventually decided to become celibate until they found a marriage partner or to just devote themselves entirely to God.

If one is a virgin or celibate in this day and age it is the correct way to go, the right lifestyle to live in honor to God and in honor of oneself. Our bodies are precious temples of the Lord and he desires us to be holy unto him.

The Lord has no condemnation toward those struggling with sexual sin or other sins and addictions that are harmful to the mind or body. Anyone can go to him for redemption if they are willing. He gives us all a choice on whether or not to follow the world/culture or to follow him.

There is nothing corny or cliche about virginity and celibacy outside of a marriage. It is the way life was meant to be, and the way that it should be according to God.

Now regarding the questions you asked in your letter. Yes, it is good to abstain from sexual relations. -1 Corinthians 7:1

It is these who have not defiled themselves with women, for they are virgins. It is these who follow the Lamb wherever he goes. These have been redeemed from mankind as firstfruits for God and the Lamb -Revelation 14:4


2 Replies to “Virginity And Celibacy”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started